header
Broadband Speed Test Broadband Connection Speed Test
Forums
VoIP Test
Speed Test
TechDigger

MAIN MENU

 Home
 Account Manager
 Account Settings
 Private Messages
 Recommend Us
 Contact Us
 Search Site
 Privacy Policy
 Vistor Statistics
 Sitemap

 Adv Speed Test
 GA - Capacity Test
 GA - <100mbps Test
 GA - >100mbps Test
 GA - Route Qual Test
 TX - Capacity Test
 TX - <100mbps Test
 TX - >100mbps Test
 CA -CT- Quality Test
 TX -CT- Capacity Test
 TX -CT- Quality Test
 CA -CT- Capacity Test
 Test Reporting Tool
 Basic Speed Tests
 GA - <100mbps Test
 TX - <100mbps Test
 Mobile Speed Test
 Satellite Speed Test
 GA - Capacity Test
 GA - Speed Test
 GA - Route Qual Test
 Test Reporting Tool
 VoIP & IPTV Tests
 GA - VoIP Test
 GA - IPTV Test
 GA - Streaming Test
 GA - Route Qual Test
 TX - VoIP Test
 TX -CT- Voip Test
 Test Reporting Tool
 Firewall Test Tools
 General Port Check
 VoIP Port Check
 VPN Port Check
 FTP/DCC Port Check
 Citrix/RA Port Check
 IM Service Port Check
 Stream Video Check
 Stream Audio Check
 Gaming Port Check

 Tech Forums
 Support Forums
 Search Site
 User Polls (Vote)
 Tech Resources
 Tech Solutions
 Internet / Cable FAQs
 Zen OS Emulator
 Tech News
 Latest Tech
 Hot Tech Topics
 Submit News Tip
 Product Reviews
 Text Only Version
 Hurricane Tracking
 Full Tracking Page
 Active Watch Areas
 Satellite & Radar
 Forecast Models (Adv)
 Tropical Wave Tracker
 Wind Shear Maps
 Wind & Vorticity Mdls
 Air Mass Models
 Atlantic Panorama
 Weather & Radar
 National Weather
 Your Weather
 California Radar
 Florida Radar
 Missouri Radar
 Oklahoma Radar
 Science Labs
 Space Weather
 Downloads & Links
 Fav Web Links
 Digital Art
 ShutterBug
 Fun & Games
 Flash Games
 Flash Games II
 Earthview Fun Portal
 ISPGeeks Extras
 Geeks File Crypt
 News Archives
 Tech News Archives
 Tech Top Viewed

CABLE & TELCO NEWS

» Primetime Ratings: 'Modern Family' Dips to Season Low, But ABC Returns Wednesday Lineup Mostly Up
CBS wins the night as Criminal Minds, CSI...

» FCC Votes To Expressly Consider More Foreign Broadcast Ownership
Praised as way to boost minority access to capital, and perhaps to free up spectrum for...

» CBS Hires Mickey Carter As Distribution Senior VP
Joins recent hire Jonathan Sarrow on Ray Hopkins' negotiating...

» Cable Networks Boost Viacom 4th Quarter Profit
Ad revenues increase by...

» CPB Creates American Archive of Public Broadcasting
To be housed in Washington and at WGBH...

» CNN Salutes 'Captain Outrageous'
Wolf Blitzer interviews key figures in life of Ted...

» RTDNF Names First Amendment Award Winners
Lester Holt to receive Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment...

» Vizrt To Acquire Mosart Medialab
Deal will add the Mosart automation to Vizrt?s...

» NBC Reviving 'Last Comic Standing'
Stand-up series will return next...

» Study: Media Rights, Sponsorship Will Fuel Sports Growth to $68 Billion in 2017
Projects CAGR of 4.8% across four segments in North...

» Netflix's TV UI Gets a Facelift
Lean back revamp comes as 'majority' of 1 billion-plus hours is streamed to...

» Senators to FCC: Don't Forget LPTVs, Translators
Warn Hill that there could be trickle-down...

» Comcast to Congress: Freeing Up More 5 GHZ WiFi Spectrum Is Crucial
Says moves are needed to relieve congestion and allow for 1 gig...

» FXX Cancels 'Totally Biased With W. Kamau Bell'
Late-night talker pulled after two seasons; struggled in move from FX to...

» NBCU Buys Full Ownership Of Sprout
HIT Television Ventures, PBS sell pre-school net stakes to Comcast...

» MBPT Spotlight: Programmatic Buying Is a Fundamental Industry Shift?But Where Is It Headed?
...

» Franken Promotes Surveillance Bill At Hill Hearing
Says more transparency on info collection is urgently...

» Lifetime Greenlights 'Under the Gunn'
Tim Gunn to host fashion competition show to premiere in January...

» Verizon Digital Media Services Acquires upLynk
Will use company's technologies to improve its services for video streaming and TV Everywhere...

» Nickelodeon, Ryan Seacrest To Create Kids-Targeted Game Show
Go Viral To Debut in Summer...

» ATSC Releases Guide to Mobile DTV Alerts
Instructs stations on integrating feature-rich alerts to mobile...

» Primetime Ratings: NBC Edges CBS for First on Tuesday
S.H.I.E.L.D. falls to lowest rating so far, but ABC's comedies...

» USA Orders Six-Episode Event Series From Tim Kring, Gideon Raff
Jerusalem-set action series is first UCP project commitment under Jeff...

» Report: Hulu Wants To Bundle Up With Pay-TV Providers
Online video hub in talks with major MVPDs, including Comcast, TWC and Verizon, WSJ...

» Andy Cohen Leaves Exec Role, Signs Production Deal With Bravo
Will continue to host 'Watch What Happens Live,' which has been picked up for two more...

TECH & TRADE NEWS


Latest Comcast News
[ Latest Comcast News ]

·U.S. cable companies home in on security
·Comcast enables Skype video calls on TV
·Comcast's new mobile 3G/4G hotspot: cheaper, no 4G caps
·Comcast sued for not selling set-top boxes, CableCARDs
·Judge throws Comcast/NFL Network mess back at FCC
·Comcast traffic management targets users, not protocols
·Comcast shuts down Winer
·NY Attorney General Investigating Comcast
·Comcast: BitTorrent blocking is a good thing

RECENT SHUTTERBUG

fish head
fish head


01c1e0fc3d7f14203e588e2b95fe9b2d40baf870ef
01c1e0fc3d7f142 ...


Clown Fish
Clown Fish


Macro Shot
Macro Shot




Photo Gallery

SITE SPONSOR



RANDOM SHUTTERBUG

Lotsa Drum!
Lotsa Drum!


Sentinel
Sentinel


sunset
sunset


black and white
black and white



Photo Gallery

ISPgeeks.com :: View topic - Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615
forums home faq search edit profile members list private messages usergroups

Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615 Goto page 1, 2  Next
 

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ISPgeeks.com Forum Index -> Comcast Xfinity Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:04 am    Post subject: Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615 Reply with quote

Bought a Dlink DIR-615 wireless router. It has an ethernet Internet port and 4 Ethernet output ports
I connected the internet port to my comcast modem (Terayon TJ725)
I connected my PC to port #1 on the Dlink

Issue: I cannot access the internet ("Page cannot be displayed").

Steps: I connected to http://192.168.0.1/, logged in, and ran the automatic configuration. I selected Dynamic IP address. I copied the MAC address and typed in my host name "gx6204gb"
I've cycled power to the modem and router, always waiting for the modem to connect first. I've tried rebooting
I noticed the IP address of the computer gets changed to 192.*.*.*

If I bypass the router and hook my PC straight to the modem it changes IP and gateway to a 66.176.*.* address and the internet works.

Comcast "reboot-support" hasn't got a clue, tells me to call DLINK

Please help! I am noobish when it comes to IPs and Subnets and all that mess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ispgeek
Founding Member
Founding Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 5:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615 Reply with quote

wev567 wrote:
Bought a Dlink DIR-615 wireless router. It has an ethernet Internet port and 4 Ethernet output ports
I connected the internet port to my comcast modem (Terayon TJ725)
I connected my PC to port #1 on the Dlink

Issue: I cannot access the internet ("Page cannot be displayed").

Steps: I connected to http://192.168.0.1/, logged in, and ran the automatic configuration. I selected Dynamic IP address. I copied the MAC address and typed in my host name "gx6204gb"
I've cycled power to the modem and router, always waiting for the modem to connect first. I've tried rebooting
I noticed the IP address of the computer gets changed to 192.*.*.*

If I bypass the router and hook my PC straight to the modem it changes IP and gateway to a 66.176.*.* address and the internet works.

Comcast "reboot-support" hasn't got a clue, tells me to call DLINK

Please help! I am noobish when it comes to IPs and Subnets and all that mess.


Take out the MAC address and host name from the router or vice versa. You don't need to set that. Simply set to dynamic ip on both the router and your pc and you should be just fine. Make sure you power down all equipment. Then power up modem, then router and then pc and see if that fixes it.

Also I need the rest of the ip address assigned to your computer. It does matter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
disconnected
Team Geek Staff
Team Geek Staff


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 2637
Location: Tampa Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Straight out of the box you don't need to mess with MAC's or subnets or anything. It should just work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

update:
I was playing with the DLINK settings and I inserted numbers manually based on my LAN settings. And the internet light came on
Router IP Address : 66.176.0.1
Subnet Mask : 255.255.248.0
Device Name : dlinkrouter
Local Domain Name :
Enable DNS Relay : yes
Enable DHCP Server : yes
DHCP IP Address Range : 66.176.0.2 to 66.176.0.199
DHCP Lease Time : 10080 (minutes)
Always broadcast : yes (compatibility for some DHCP Clients)
the only way I can make the internet light come on (on the DLink) is to set up a static IP of 66.176.*.* (i used the IP that I am currently assigned)
Even after the light comes on I still have no internet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disconnected
Team Geek Staff
Team Geek Staff


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 2637
Location: Tampa Florida

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try what I suggested though?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BandWidth
Team Geek Staff
Team Geek Staff


Joined: Feb 19, 2009
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey wev! we're waiting man, we really want to help Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ispgeek
Founding Member
Founding Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Wev...

What's the status of this question?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally solved my problem. After I don't know how many calls to dlink I got to speak to someone who spole noobease and english who was able to guide me through resetting my router firmware. Then it connected right up. Dunno why it wouldn't do that out of the box before I made all those changes and crap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ispgeek
Founding Member
Founding Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We tried to tell you that but you never responded. I'm glad you fixed it though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to take back my last post. Now the router is having connection problems and every so often it just locks up for a few seconds then starts where it left off. In the middle of a page the page hangs for a while then starts again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ISPgeeks.com Forum Index -> Comcast Xfinity Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '.' in /home/ispgeeks/public_html/wild/themes/midnight/footer.php on line 87