header
Broadband Speed Test Broadband Connection Speed Test
Forums
VoIP Test
Speed Test
TechDigger

MAIN MENU

 Home
 Account Manager
 Account Settings
 Private Messages
 Recommend Us
 Contact Us
 Search Site
 Privacy Policy
 Vistor Statistics
 Sitemap

 Advanced Speed Test
 GA - Capacity Test
 GA - Speed Test
 GA - High Speed Test
 GA - Route Qual Test
 TX - Capacity Test
 TX - Speed Test
 CA -CT- Capacity Test
 CA -CT- Quality Test
 TX -CT- Capacity Test
 TX -CT- Quality Test
 Test Reporting Tool
 Basic Speed Tests
 GA - Speed Test
 TX - Speed Test
 Mobile Speed Test
 Satellite Speed Test
 GA - Capacity Test
 GA - Speed Test
 GA - Route Qual Test
 Test Reporting Tool
 VoIP & IPTV Tests
 GA - VoIP Test
 GA - IPTV Test
 GA - Streaming Test
 GA - Route Qual Test
 TX - VoIP Test
 TX -CT- Voip Test
 Test Reporting Tool
 Firewall Test Tools
 General Port Check
 VoIP Port Check
 VPN Port Check
 FTP/DCC Port Check
 Citrix/RA Port Check
 IM Service Port Check
 Stream Video Check
 Stream Audio Check
 Gaming Port Check

 Tech Forums
 Support Forums
 Search Site
 User Polls (Vote)
 Tech Resources
 Tech Solutions
 Internet / Cable FAQs
 Zen OS Emulator
 Tech News
 Latest Tech
 Hot Tech Topics
 Submit News Tip
 Product Reviews
 Text Only Version

 Hurricane Tracking
 Full Tracking Page
 Tropical Wave Tracker
 Wind Shear Maps
 Air Mass Models
 Atlantic Panorama
 Weather & Radar
 National Weather
 Your Weather
 California Radar
 Florida Radar
 Missouri Radar
 Oklahoma Radar
 Science Labs
 Space Weather

 Downloads & Links
 Fav Web Links
 Pics & Dig Art
 ShutterBug
 Fun & Games
 Flash Games
 Flash Games II
 Earthview Fun Portal

 ISPGeeks Extras
 Geeks File Crypt
 News Archives
 Tech News Archives
 Tech Top Viewed

CABLE & TELCO NEWS

» Upon Further Review, Wall St.Still Rooting for TV Sports
Disney cable drop forces analysts to recheck ESPN...

» Schumer to FCC: Don't Limit Wireless Bidders
Asks chairman to insure broadcasters benefit, FirstNet is paid...

» HBO Go Is Good To Go on Chromecast
Becomes latest anchor tenant for Google's $35 streaming...

» AP Names New Top U.S. News Editor
Carovillano had been Bangkok-based news director for Asia...

» State Broadcasters Ask FCC to Defer Political File Posting Deadline
Argue it is unfair not to also apply it to...

» CPB Funds TV Station Emergency Communications
Sen. Markey calls broadcast/public safety partnerships important use of...

» House Judiciary Passes Patent Troll Bill
Cable-backed bill heads to...

» 'NCIS' Goes For A Record
Fox Japan marathon promotes new...

» Rockefeller Introducing Cybersecurity Bill
Will amend bill, which passed unanimously out of Commerce committee, to Defense Authorization...

» Univision Adds New Social Features to Latin Grammys
Coverage will include work with Twitter, Facebook and...

» Raycom Works Out Shared Services Deal For WVUE New Orleans
Fox affiliate stays locally owned as Raycom expands its southeastern...

» Wheeler Meets with Public Interest Groups
Source: Says FCC needs to collect more data on minority...

» Media General, Dish Drop Retrans Complaints At FCC
Follows last week's resolution of contract...

» TWC Settles On New Name For Local News Nets
Time Warner Cable News tacked ahead of name in...

» MBPT Spotlight: A Win-Win for Marketers--Matching Up Viewers Who Are Emotionally Attached To Both Brands And Particular Shows
...

» NHMC To FCC: Auction Likely To Decrease Diversity
Asks FCC to keep close tabs on which stations are convinced to sell...

» Padden: FCC Has Auction Order 'Substantially Drafted'
Says it should stick to 2013 deadline, NAB's Kaplan says no need to rush for self-imposed...

» 'America's Got Talent' to Return All Four Judges
Official announcement comes day after Stern said he was coming back on his radio...

» Primetime Ratings: 'S.H.I.E.L.D.' Improves Slightly With 'Thor' Crossover Episode
Voice falls to fall Tuesday low, Chicago Fire hits season...

» Wheeler Names New Homeland Security Bureau Chief
Turetsky will coordinate task force on disaster...

» CBS Sports' Dan Dierdorf to Retire
Longest-tenured NFL TV analyst to hang up mic after 30...

» Amazon Lands Streaming Rights for PBS' 'Mr. Selfridge'
Prime Instant Video subs will be able to stream first season beginning...

» Comcast?s ?Xfinity TV Store' Opens Doors Online And On Set-Top Boxes
At least 170 movies, seven TV series available for purchase early...

» FCC Extends Deadline For Ownership Reports
Keeps filing window open a little longer to compensate for Web site...

» Gray TV/Excalibur To Acquire Hoak Media, Parker Broadcasting Stations For $335 Million
Sioux Falls, Fargo among the DMAs in smaller-market deal; Excalibur picks up two Fox stations in...

TECH & TRADE NEWS


Mobile Computing
[ Mobile Computing ]

·Blackberry’s Android BBM app drawing lots of suspicious 5-star ratings
·Advertising in Free Apps Saps Your Smartphone's Battery Life
·Privacy-violating, useless AVG antivirus app pulled from Windows Phone Marketpla
·Saying no to smartphones: most mobile users will buy new 'dumb' phones
·Android users biggest data hogs of them all
·Cloud load testing suite can impersonate a million iPhones
·Palm updates devices, opens App Catalog, boosts gaming
·Govt workers banned from texting while driving
·New DHS laptop search policy: crap sandwich, fancier bread

RECENT SHUTTERBUG

Seahorse
Seahorse


Orchid
Orchid


Winter Sunrise
Winter Sunrise


Fall Mist
Fall Mist




Photo Gallery

SITE SPONSOR



RANDOM SHUTTERBUG

Picture 011
Picture 011


Sgt Matt Dickerson
Sgt Matt Dicker ...


What a FREAK!
What a FREAK!


Lazy Fox
Lazy Fox



Photo Gallery

ISPgeeks.com :: View topic - Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615
forums home faq search edit profile members list private messages usergroups

Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615 Goto page 1, 2  Next
 

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ISPgeeks.com Forum Index -> Comcast Xfinity Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:04 am    Post subject: Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615 Reply with quote

Bought a Dlink DIR-615 wireless router. It has an ethernet Internet port and 4 Ethernet output ports
I connected the internet port to my comcast modem (Terayon TJ725)
I connected my PC to port #1 on the Dlink

Issue: I cannot access the internet ("Page cannot be displayed").

Steps: I connected to http://192.168.0.1/, logged in, and ran the automatic configuration. I selected Dynamic IP address. I copied the MAC address and typed in my host name "gx6204gb"
I've cycled power to the modem and router, always waiting for the modem to connect first. I've tried rebooting
I noticed the IP address of the computer gets changed to 192.*.*.*

If I bypass the router and hook my PC straight to the modem it changes IP and gateway to a 66.176.*.* address and the internet works.

Comcast "reboot-support" hasn't got a clue, tells me to call DLINK

Please help! I am noobish when it comes to IPs and Subnets and all that mess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ispgeek
Founding Member
Founding Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 6691
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 5:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Comcast High speed vs Dlink DIR-615 Reply with quote

wev567 wrote:
Bought a Dlink DIR-615 wireless router. It has an ethernet Internet port and 4 Ethernet output ports
I connected the internet port to my comcast modem (Terayon TJ725)
I connected my PC to port #1 on the Dlink

Issue: I cannot access the internet ("Page cannot be displayed").

Steps: I connected to http://192.168.0.1/, logged in, and ran the automatic configuration. I selected Dynamic IP address. I copied the MAC address and typed in my host name "gx6204gb"
I've cycled power to the modem and router, always waiting for the modem to connect first. I've tried rebooting
I noticed the IP address of the computer gets changed to 192.*.*.*

If I bypass the router and hook my PC straight to the modem it changes IP and gateway to a 66.176.*.* address and the internet works.

Comcast "reboot-support" hasn't got a clue, tells me to call DLINK

Please help! I am noobish when it comes to IPs and Subnets and all that mess.


Take out the MAC address and host name from the router or vice versa. You don't need to set that. Simply set to dynamic ip on both the router and your pc and you should be just fine. Make sure you power down all equipment. Then power up modem, then router and then pc and see if that fixes it.

Also I need the rest of the ip address assigned to your computer. It does matter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
disconnected
Team Geek Staff
Team Geek Staff


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 2638
Location: Tampa Florida

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Straight out of the box you don't need to mess with MAC's or subnets or anything. It should just work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

update:
I was playing with the DLINK settings and I inserted numbers manually based on my LAN settings. And the internet light came on
Router IP Address : 66.176.0.1
Subnet Mask : 255.255.248.0
Device Name : dlinkrouter
Local Domain Name :
Enable DNS Relay : yes
Enable DHCP Server : yes
DHCP IP Address Range : 66.176.0.2 to 66.176.0.199
DHCP Lease Time : 10080 (minutes)
Always broadcast : yes (compatibility for some DHCP Clients)
the only way I can make the internet light come on (on the DLink) is to set up a static IP of 66.176.*.* (i used the IP that I am currently assigned)
Even after the light comes on I still have no internet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disconnected
Team Geek Staff
Team Geek Staff


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 2638
Location: Tampa Florida

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try what I suggested though?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BandWidth
Team Geek Staff
Team Geek Staff


Joined: Feb 19, 2009
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey wev! we're waiting man, we really want to help Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ispgeek
Founding Member
Founding Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 6691
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Wev...

What's the status of this question?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally solved my problem. After I don't know how many calls to dlink I got to speak to someone who spole noobease and english who was able to guide me through resetting my router firmware. Then it connected right up. Dunno why it wouldn't do that out of the box before I made all those changes and crap.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ispgeek
Founding Member
Founding Member


Joined: Nov 14, 2006
Posts: 6691
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

PostPosted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We tried to tell you that but you never responded. I'm glad you fixed it though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
wev567
Geek in Training
Geek in Training


Joined: Jul 08, 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to take back my last post. Now the router is having connection problems and every so often it just locks up for a few seconds then starts where it left off. In the middle of a page the page hangs for a while then starts again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ISPgeeks.com Forum Index -> Comcast Xfinity Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Internet Speed Test bandwidth test Voip Test | Site Map | IspGeekMap 
ISPgeeks Advertising | Broadband Speed Test
ISPgeeks Tech SolutionsInternet Speed Test
Hosting provided by Ubiquity Hosting Solutions

©2006-2013
 ISPGeeks.com - All rights reserved
ISPgeeks Privacy Policy
Page Generation: 0.16 Seconds
speedtest bandwidth speed test speed test
broadband diagnostics test internet speed dsl speed test